Hip Hop Appreciation Week: Snoop Dogg

Snoop Doggy Dogg! Tha dog pound..this man’s career is not what it once was (hence Snoop Lion) but he will stand as the greatest to ever do it. The first time I remember hearing Snoop was when he released Drop it like its hot in ’04. That song was probably the first song I can recall that shut down the whole summer.  (Ebonics: best song for the summer) Let’s us not forget, I just wanted you to know that you are real-ly special! ๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ‘5th grade senior trip right there!! Lawd! Every girl was Beautiful!

As I moved to Florida in 06′, that is when my love for Hip-Hop truly began to blossom. I remember watching for the first time Tupac Resurrection and how Snoop was a part of Death Row records. After that documentary, I came across his earlier material and saw some gritty stuff. Gin and Juice, Deep Cover, Nuthing but a G thang, What’s my Name, 2 of Amerikaz most wanted. I realized later on the effects of that music had on my mind. His, Eazy-E, 2pac…when I was listening to these guys, I was in my most vulnerable state. I don’t think BET is healthy for any black person growing up in America. Yet, I can’t think of an healthy alternative.

I don’t blame Snoop at all. He did what most rappers do in that position. Through my own eyes I have seen how he has progressed from that negative image into a positive one. I knew Hip Hop was over that gangster mentality right around the time he released Sensual Seduction. Only Snoop can come out with a record like that and not be criticized. By the time the new decade ushered in, he has gone off the radar, he has always been 100% him. As fans, that’s all we can ask for. We appeciate you Snoop Dogg for your contribution to Hip Hop!

Freestyle from the Bible of Hip Hop: What’s Heaven is Heaven, what’s hell is hell ~ but freedom begins is when we govern ourselves. (5/20/16)

Leave a Reply

