Week 1/ 2016

The first week of 2016 is over! To be honest, heading into this new year is heartbreaking for me. 2 weeks prior, I recently ended an relationship with a person I knew for about 7 years. I will always have love for her but I knew it was best if we went our separate ways. In 2015, I had accomplished more than I ever did in previous years combined and yet, there’s something missing. I know it. I feel it. It’s the journey towards adulthood where only you are reponsible for successes and failures. It is not easy for anyone, nobody said it would be. My challenge for the new year : How resilient can I be in the face of adversity?
I became a big fan of wrestling back in ’99 when I was 6 years old. I remember living in Pre – gentrified Prospect Heights, Brooklyn. Every Thursdays on UPN, I would tune in religiously to see SMACKDOWN! Every PG-13 catchphrase stood for a quote in the Attitude Era Bible, Kane would be the

devil’s

favorite demon,” where seeing Rikishi in regular pants calls for blasphmey. Good times ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

This picture you see represents in my opinion one of the greatest wrestlers of all time, HBK. The Icon, The Showstopper, Mr. Wrestlemania, the guy had it all. Everything I always wanted for myself. The looks, charisma, talent showmanship – with a superkick that could knock you out stronger than a sleeping pill. ๐Ÿ’Š. He became addicted to pills of that nature and other abuses that led to the early derailment of his career in ’98. He cleaned up his abuse and came back full throttle 4 years later to win the WWE World Heavyweight Championship. Please note that having 5 star matches at Wrestlemania after Wrestlemania is no easy feat either. It’s a tad bit unfortunate to not possess many qualities the Heartbreak Kid had in his prime, but you can be assured his level of resiliency is what I am aiming for this year. Thank you for the memories!

image
The Heartbreak Kid Shawn Michaels

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

